The Swapper.

Mr. Grimm. —  16/01/2015 — Leave a comment

Okay, here’s an indie update for all you craving something from the forgotten corners of the toy chest. I recently got my paws on The Swappers. A fancy little gem from one of my favorite countries, Finland. Facepalm studio set this up for mac, windows, and Linux. Then curve studios went on ahead and loaded that up on Sony products which is where my black heart fell in love with it. Before I even get to the actual game I want to point out that my  favorite feature is a cloud sync ability. This means I can play it on my ps4, ps3 for some reason, and the vita should I feel I need a lazy day and decide not to get out of bed or Jess has control of the TV.

So, what exactly are we looking at? A puzzle platformer set in space. I haven’t unraveled the mystery myself yet but trust me when I tell you it’s enough to keep you playing. I am eager for when I can get down to it tonight actually. I’m ashamed to say it but it’s been a while since I’ve felt that kind of intrigue and urge to find out more about the story. It’s refreshing. Every puzzle game has a convention, this one is a device that allows you to create clones that mimic your movements exactly. That wouldn’t really do the name justice though would it? No of course not. The device allows you to swap places with your clone. See? See how they did that? They let you know the key mechanic with the title. See how smart that is? It’s cause they’re from Finland.

I’m only at the beginning of the game but I want to point out that you will find out that when you are creating clones time slows down and that if you time the buttons correctly you can insta swap. The reason this is worth mention is because you are given easy puzzles to solve, but no instruction. The only way to figure it out is through experimentation. It presented a challenge and actually allowed me to figure it out.

So go get it.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

